The Homesick Texan’s Family Table

20140602-294464-cook-the-book-the-homesick-texans-family-table-cover

I’m a homesick Texan. I was born and raised in Texas and, although I’ve lived elsewhere for more years than I lived there, Texas is always going to be home. Understandably, when I saw the title of the cookbook The Homesick Texan’s Family Table, I HAD to find out if it was really all that! Yep. It is. I knew it was to be so when, thumbing through it for the first time, I found a picture of my high school football stadium! If you’re a Texan, you know that finding THAT is a bona fide sign from the heavens!

My high school football stadium...just as it was when I left a century ago!

My high school football stadium…just as it was when I left a century ago!

You don’t have to be a Texan to love the recipes included in The Homesick Texan’s Family Table. You have to abhor bland, tasteless, boiled food, but you don’t have to be a Texan!  The recipes included are all tied to traditional Texas fare with Lisa Fain’s personal twist. If you’re used to the traditional tastes, the backbone of the recipes are there and easily modified to their original homestyle Texan glory. Lisa’s personalizations are wonderful though, so don’t knock it ’til ya tried it! Most of the food, true to Texan tastes, will have a bit of a kick. Not all is spicy, but all will have flavor to wake up your tastebuds!

Texans are known for their friendliness. This book will bring your family and friends to the table! There’s no better way to strengthen relationships than gathering for a meal. Plan to do your visiting after dinner though. This food won’t wait! Just looking through the cookbook, I was drooling. There is no doubt that you will find something among these recipes that you’ll love! There’s only one thing wrong with this cookbook…it made me MORE homesick!

No book about Texas would be complete without a picture of bluebonnets!

No book about Texas would be complete without a picture of bluebonnets!

*The publisher provided me with a complementary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookbooks, Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

