Bend Your Brain

9780804140096

I am not a puzzle-person. Not that I don’t like them. I do. But for some reason they just don’t make it high enough on my priority list to do. Still, I like to keep my brain active and since I’ve been medically retired I find intellectual stimulation harder to come by than when I was helping save lives on a medical helicopter! So, when I saw Bend Your Brain in my choices for books to review, I was intrigued. Evidently there are stores (Marbles: The Brain Store) that exclusively sell learning toys, games and puzzles. Who knew?! Well, I do now, because the Bend Your Brain book is authored by “The Minds Behind Marbles: The Brain Store.”

I started out at the front of the book with word games, then some picture identification games. I didn’t find that they required much ‘thinking’…I either knew them or I didn’t. Some of the puzzles were so based on pop culture that they were unappealing. Still there were puzzles that I found challenging and I enjoyed those. I did a representative sample of puzzles throughout the book.

The retail price of this book is $14.00. There’s no way I’d pay that kind of money for a puzzle book…especially one that was of this caliber. I was underwhelmed. Skip this book if you want intellectual stimulation and spend your money on one of the online brainiac sites like FitBrain or Luminosity.

*I was provided with a complementary copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for my honest review*

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

