Home For Christmas: Stories for Young and Old

61+RrZt6pOL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Christmas is a time for tradition.  Time-honored traditions have a way of unifying our experience of the holiday in ways that few other things can. I started a few traditions when my children were young and we still find them comforting today. Still, I wish I had started more traditions…and reading from a book of Christmas stories daily as the days count down is a great way to get into the holiday spirit.

Home for Christmas is a delightful anthology of short stories with Christmas themes. The authors are familiar (Pearl Buck, Henry van Dyke) and less-familiar, but all are enjoyable and pleasant. Most are secular stories that capture the “spirit of Christmas” in subtle ways. The 20 stories are all great for reading aloud to children or adults and most are about 10 minutes of reading or less. I didn’t get the book until right before Christmas so I didn’t get to read it much in my run-up to the holiday, but I will next year.

I received a complementary copy of this book in exchange for my review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under children, Christmas, Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

