The Mapmaker’s Children

18490777

The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy is one of the few books that I just couldn’t finish. I love historical fiction, but for some reason, the alternating-past-and-present format in this book just bogged me down. I just couldn’t really gain any traction in either thread.

Maybe it is ADD on my part, but this isn’t a book I can recommend. I love the idea of reading about the famous abolitionist John Brown through the eyes of his daughter, and maybe I would have liked the book if it had been simply the historical story line. Something about the modern story line seemed inauthentic to me…it interrupted the flow of the book.

I received a complementary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

